History of the International Society for Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions

​The International Society for Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions (IS-MPMI) developed as a result of the success of the biennial symposium series. These began in Bielefeld in 1982 when Alf Puhler organized a meeting to bring together scientists interested in applying molecular genetics to problems of interactions of microbes with plants. Our area of science grew rapidly, shown by the increase in numbers of participants at successive symposia, and informal discussions were held about the founding of a society to promote the advancement of the science.
An Interim Board was established following a ballot of the participants at the 1988 Acapulco symposium. The Board took on the task of establishing the Society. Much of the work of negotiating and drafting the Bylaws was undertaken by Desh Pal Verma, the founding President of the Society. The Board approved the Bylaws​ at its meeting in Interlaken in 1990, and the Society was formally inaugurated on  September 7, 1990. The Board encourages members who have questions or suggestions about the structure of the Society to express their views by contacting the IS-MPMI President
An agreement was reached in 1993 with the American Phytopathological Society (APS) which provides IS-MPMI modest royalty payments from the journal Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions (MPMI). This arrangement recognizes the crucial role that IS-MPMI members have played in establishing the journal, as editors, referees and contributors.
The Board is anxious to develop further activities and services to members, and would welcome suggestions for new ventures.  

IS-MPMI Listing of Past Presidents

Roger Innes 2022-2023​
Mary Beth Mudgett, 2019-2022
Regine Kahmann, 2016-2019
Sheng Yang He, 2014-2016
Sophien Kamoun, 2012-2014
Felice Cervone, 2009-2012
Federico Sanchez, 2007-2009
Pierre J. de Wit, 2005-2007
Jonathan D. Walton, 2003-2005
Egbertus  Lugtenberg, 2001-2003
Jan E. Leach, 1999-2001
Barry G. Rolfe, 1996-1999
Eugene W. Nester, 1994-1996
Michael J. Daniels, 1992-1994
Desh Pal S. Verma, 1990-1992

Past Congress Dates and Locations

A listing of past Congress dates, locations and summaries is maintained in the Congress Archives section.